Advance Base 'Animal Companionship'

Product Information //

Owen Ashworth’s albums have always been about the human condition, and his latest is no exception. That may sound strange, given that his project Advance Base’s new album is called Animal Companionship, but it’s as human as anything he’s done before.After hearing problems forced the end of his electronic pop project Casiotone for the Painfully Alone in 2010, Ashworth started making quieter music as Advance Base, releasing A Shut-In’s Prayer in 2012, Nephew In The Wild in 2015 and a slew of tapes and 7” EPs in between. The meditative nature of Ashworth’s new songwriting process can be heard in Animal Companionship’s spacious arrangements. Blissful drones and lush synthesizer textures envelop soft electric piano arpeggiations and spare drum programming, creating an almost hypnotic backdrop for Ashworth’s lyrical narratives.Taken as a whole, Animal Companionship is not just a step forward for Advance Base—it’s the culmination of everything Ashworth has been building for the past two decades. It’s a record that’s gentle in approach and endearing in practice, the kind of thing that only Ashworth could create.

1. True Love Death Dream
2. Dolores & Kimberly
3. Your Dog
4. Christmas in Nightmare City
5. You & Me & the Moon
6. Walt’s Fantasy
7. Rabbits
8. Same Dream
9. Care
10. Answering Machine